Live Chat ×
Skip to main content

Utilizing Chromogenic Media in the Microbiology Laboratory to Address Current Healthcare Challenges

Thank you

This live web event has ended. Thank you for attending.


  • Margie Morgan, PhD

    Scientific Director Professor Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
    Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

    Dr. Morgan has over 30 years of laboratory experience first as a bench technologist and then laboratory director.Her professional focus has been on rapid technologies for identification of blood culture pathogens, Clostridium difficile diagnostic strategies, and infection control methods and application of molecular methods to the microbiology laboratory. These interests have led to over 100 abstracts and publications.

    Dr. Morgan earned her BS in Medical Technology at the University of Oklahoma, and her PhD in Medical Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Campus.She obtained a Fellowship in Clinical Microbiology at the Mayo Clinic (Rochester, MN).She is certified by the American Board of Medical Microbiology.

    She has been twice awarded the Golden Apple Award for teaching Medical students, Pathology residents and Infectious Disease Fellows at Cedars-Sinai medical center.She has spoken at numerous regional and national meetings, she is the past president of her local ASM chapter (SCASM), and hosts a microbiology blog on the internet for the review of microbiology, “Microbes with Dr. Morgan”.

    Dr. Morgan has been the Scientific Director of the Microbiology Laboratory in the Division of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center for 30 years.

  • Patrick R Murray, PhD

    Sr. Director WW Scientific Affairs
    BD Life Sciences

    Dr. Patrick R. Murray received his Ph.D. degree in Microbiology at UCLA, postgraduate training in Clinical Microbiology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester MN, and was director of the Clinical Microbiology Laboratories at Barnes Hospital and Washington University from 1976-1999.

    In 2001 he accepted the position of Senior Scientist and Chief of Microbiology at the National Institutes of Health. In July 2011 he accepted his current position at BD Diagnostics as Worldwide Senior Director of Scientific Affairs. He is the former Editor-in-Chief of the ASM Manual of Clinical Microbiology and serves on numerous editorial boards. He has authored more than 275 research articles and 20 books.

    He is the recipient of numerous awards including the ASM Becton Dickinson Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology (1993), ASM BioMerieux-Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology (2002), ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award (2010), and ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award (2011), as well as the Pasteur Award (Illinois Branch of ASM, 2007), NIH Clinical Center Director's Awards for Patient Care (2006) and Research (2010), and NIH Director's Award for Research (2007).

May 17, 2017
Wed 1:00 PM EDT

Duration 1H 0M

This live web event has ended.